The Student Room Group

equivalent qualifications

:confused: lotsly confused bout all these options ive got after this years course wondered if anyone can help?

i'm studying 'national certificate level 2 in enviromental conservation' this year and have choices in either:

'advanced nvq level 3 in countryside management' or 'national diploma in countryside management' for next year.

I have been told that the 'advanced nvq level 3 in countryside management' is equivalent to a 'higher national diploma in enviromental management'

I have also been told that the 'national diploma in countryside management' is higher than the 'advanced nvq level 3 in countryside management' but the follow on to that is the 'higher national diploma in enviromental management' ???????? :confused:

so basically i want to know if a 'HND' is the same as an 'advanced level3 NVQ'

and also if the 'advanced level3 NVQ' is better than the 'ND'

if anybody can tell me please do :smile:

tanx-a-lot!

oh an im sorry if it dont make sense to you but thats how i got it!!!!
Reply 1
The pecking order is generally seen as:

Degree (a good one hopefully)

then

HND (also known as Have No Degree)
NVQ (also known as B&Q)
ND (also known as No Degree)
Key Skills (can't think of a silly moniker)

J.
Reply 2
well thanks for that hornblower. but i didnt realy apprieciate the 'extra' descriptions. and also what if youve got a nvq level 4? or 5? how does that compare to other qualifications?

I like NVQ's they show you can do the work not just you know how to do the work without ever actually doing it.
Reply 3
the evil trees
well thanks for that hornblower. but i didnt realy apprieciate the 'extra' descriptions. and also what if youve got a nvq level 4? or 5? how does that compare to other qualifications?

I like NVQ's they show you can do the work not just you know how to do the work without ever actually doing it.

So does having a degree. I couldn't have none my website without being at university.