The Student Room Group

BTEC and University

1. Do I need to do 3 years in college to get into uni?
2. Can I get onto an English language/literature/creative writing course if I study BTEC hairdressing in college?
3. Do I need to do an English course in college to get onto English in university, or can I get on with a GCSE Grade 4?

Thank you!
1) Are you from the UK.
2) What are your current qualifications.
3) Why do you want to do a degree in English.
Original post by McGinger
1) Are you from the UK.
2) What are your current qualifications.
3) Why do you want to do a degree in English.
1) yes
2) im in my first year of college doing hair and beauty Level 1 (which I do not want to do)
3) because I’ve been writing for a while, and im now almost finished on publishing my first book.
Original post by Morganelliescott
1) yes
2) im in my first year of college doing hair and beauty Level 1 (which I do not want to do)
3) because I’ve been writing for a while, and im now almost finished on publishing my first book.
Hi @Morganelliescott

Wow, your own book that is amazing! For most universities you need a certain amount of UCAS points to get onto the course, so unfortunately GCSE's won't be accepted. However, there are BTEC English courses you could take if you don't want to do A-levels, but doing either A-levels or a BTEC would be your way in. And if you really want to peruse this then I think it is worth doing the two years of college to get the grades so you can get on a great course at uni. Sometimes people worry that they will be a year behind everyone else but honestly when you arrive to university there are people of all ages, and it is better to take your time to do something you love then carry on in something you don't enjoy.

And keep writing! The book and anything else you write are all great for building that CV and portfolio for when applying to internships and jobs and also some universities take a portfolio.

So to answer your questions directly