The Student Room Group
Carr Saunders Halls, LSE
London School of Economics
London

Bsc Econ. TMUA vs Further Math.

I am taking Math, Econ and Psychology 3 A-Level, planning to apply Bsc Econ, eg LSE and Warwick. Yes, im a non-Further Math student. But will a good TMUA score make me stand a chance? with a A*A*A*
Original post by Jun0428
I am taking Math, Econ and Psychology 3 A-Level, planning to apply Bsc Econ, eg LSE and Warwick. Yes, im a non-Further Math student. But will a good TMUA score make me stand a chance? with a A*A*A*
Sadly no is the answer. Because BSc Economics at LSE has so many applicants with 3 A star grades predicted that they look favorably on the applicants offering Further Maths.
Carr Saunders Halls, LSE
London School of Economics
London
Reply 2
Original post by thegeek888
Sadly no is the answer. Because BSc Economics at LSE has so many applicants with 3 A star grades predicted that they look favorably on the applicants offering Further Maths.

What if i am involved in International Economics Olympiad, had gotten top in the world for AS Math, and have a defent PS?
Original post by Jun0428
What if i am involved in International Economics Olympiad, had gotten top in the world for AS Math, and have a defent PS?

You still require A-Level Further Maths or at least AS-Level Further Maths. Since the LSE BSc Economics is highly mathematical and progress is made rapidly, therefore an A star or A in Further Maths would boost your application.

So why not teach yourself?

I can send you the .zip file on my Microsoft OneDrive to download. It has all the eBooks and model answers to the eBooks.
(edited 4 weeks ago)
Reply 4
You still require A-Level Further Maths or at least AS-Level Further Maths. Since the LSE BSc Economics is highly mathematical and progress is made rapidly, therefore an A star or A in Further Maths would boost your application.
So why not teach yourself?