The Student Room Group

Is it possible to go from N5 Spanish to crashing Higher French??

For context, I’m a student in Scotland studying Nat 5 spanish and while i won’t go into detail, the way my course choices line up i am unable to take it next year. I’ve thought about picking it up in my last year of school, but i will still have to maintain my level of spanish so i don’t forget it, and there is also the risk the class won’t run - so I’d effectively have been keeping up with spanish for nothing. As i want a language, i could switch to French - but it’s a risk. Ideally i want to get an A or B, is it possible to make the switch quickly?? I’d be studying it along side all highers in maths, classical studies, english, and art.
Original post by ivoryyroses
For context, I’m a student in Scotland studying Nat 5 spanish and while i won’t go into detail, the way my course choices line up i am unable to take it next year. I’ve thought about picking it up in my last year of school, but i will still have to maintain my level of spanish so i don’t forget it, and there is also the risk the class won’t run - so I’d effectively have been keeping up with spanish for nothing. As i want a language, i could switch to French - but it’s a risk. Ideally i want to get an A or B, is it possible to make the switch quickly?? I’d be studying it along side all highers in maths, classical studies, english, and art.

Hi @ivoryyroses 🙂 If you're doing well with Nat 5 Spanish, have a love for languages and your school is ok with you taking the Higher French without the Nat 5 then I'd say you'll do well. French and Spanish are similar in their roots, so many students find it do-able to move between the two languages. I was similar to you when I was at uni - except in the opposite way as I had a French basis and picked up Spanish, but was able to get on ok with the Spanish!