The Student Room Group
Graduation day, University of Glasgow
University of Glasgow
Visit website

Please Help!! Glasgow vs Sheffield

Hey everyone

So I got unconditional offer from both Glasgow and Sheffield this year and I can't decide which to go! I'm an international student so I'm not really familiar with universities in the UK. Please give me some advice.
I'm studying psychology and I know that Glasgow has a higher ranking in psychology. But I have also heard that Sheffield got a better reputation.
Some also say that Sheffield got a higher student satisfaction rate and students there are happier.
These days I've got so much opinion from my cousins and friends and I'm so confused. One of my cousins even strongly discourage me to go to Glasgow because she stressed that Glasgow is a really dangerous city famous for drugs and gangs with a high crime rate, is that true? Also some also concern that the terrible freezing weather and the fact that it gets dark pretty early will effect students' mood and emotions. It just sounds so horrifying, is that also true? I think the uni is really really beautiful and reading comments here tells me that students enjoy studying there... So I'm so confused.

And for Sheffield, I think the campus is also very nice ,looks bigger and more equipped(Don't know if it's the truth tho) Watching the videos on Youtube also makes it seems like the campus is super fun and vibrant. Yet, I guess my concern is its psychology ranking is way lower than Glasgow? And I've also heard that Glasgow s harder to get in...

So... I got sooo much opinion on the two uni these days and I'm head aching about which to choose. Again I'm not from the UK so I don't know which sounds better to ppl as well. I would appreciate it if someone could tell me some downsides of studying in the 2 uni so that I know what to expect. Please please help. Thank you so much

(I'm posting in both uni forum so ppl can c it lol)
Original post by nathui
Hey everyone